The AIANY COTE Awards recognizes results-oriented achievements in the urban context. Winning submissions demonstrate processes that culminate in beautiful, timeless and measurable design.

best mobile options trading platform The 2016 Deadline has been extended to October 16th

The awards will further sustainable design in the architectural profession, make transparent lessons learned, and reveal the process behind true innovation in an urban context.

Established in 2014 by the New York Chapter of AIA’s Committee on the Environment, the program seeks to redefine how design excellence is evaluated. By honoring innovative projects we seek to provide a collective resource to all firms looking to achieve socially and environmentally responsible design. best options trading platform for beginners

Connecting the individual experience to a greater context and purpose has always been the role of architecture. Climate change, political stability, energy and water independence, and human health are all responsibilities of the design community. These challenges present new opportunities to enrich the profession — to generate positive impact in the world we build. The awards recognize design that brings us closer to solving the critical issues facing our communities as achieving the highest level of intention possible in the field of architecture. options trading platform

BuckminsterFuller1“We are called to be architects of the future, not its victims. [The challenge is] to make the world work for 100% of humanity in the shortest possible time, with spontaneous cooperation and without ecological damage or disadvantage of anyone.”
— R. Buckminster Fuller

More Details


  • Gina Bocra

    Chief Sustainability Officer, New York City Department of Buildings (DOB) 

  • Hillary Brown

    Professor, Spitzer School of Architecture, City College of New York

  • Sydney Mainster

    Sustainability Manager, The Durst Organization

  • Daniel H. Nall

    Vice President, Syska Hennesy Group

  • Robert Matthew Noblett

    Partner, Behnisch Arkitechten


All submissions must be received by 5:00 p.m. (EST) on Friday, October 16th, 2015. The submission deadline will be strictly observed; no exceptions will be made. Winners will be announced Wednesday, November 11th, 2015 and will be asked to present their projects at the Center for Architecture at 6:30pm on Monday, December 7th, 2015.

More Details


All projects must be located within an L4, L5 or L6 transect as defined by the Living Building Challenge and within 200 miles of Central Park, as the crow flies. Architects licensed in the U.S. are invited to submit regardless of project size, budget, style, or building type. Entries are welcome and encouraged from both established and new practitioners.

Projects must be built and completed after January 1st, 2010 and for at least three months prior to the submission deadline. “Completion” is synonymous with “substantial completion,” as defined in the standard AIA documents governing construction.  It is strongly encouraged that projects include a minimum of one (1) year of operational performance data (energy and water.)


    This is comprised of light- to medium-density mixed-use development found in larger villages, small towns or at the edge of larger cities.

    (FAR of 0.5 – 1.49)


    This is comprised of a medium- to high-density mixed-use development found in small to mid-sized cities or in the first ‘ring’ of a larger city.

    (FAR of 1.5 – 2.99)


    This is comprised of high-to very high-density mixed use development found in large cities and metropolises.

    (FAR. ≥ 3.0)

Campus projects located within the above zones are also elligible.

The entry is to be submitted by the architect (design architect or architect of record.)

The submitting architect may qualify as a member of a design team, whether or not serving as the head of the team. When one architect is not the sole author, all other participants contributing substantially to the design of the project must be given credit as part of the submission, regardless of professional discipline. Project authorship must remain anonymous during jury deliberations. If authorship is revealed on any submission materials – images, plans, or narrative – the entry will be disqualified. A project that credits any 2015 AIANY COTE AWARDS jury member or his/her firm as architect, associate architect, consultant, or client is ineligible and will be disqualified if submitted.

Entries from firms that have signed onto the AIA 2030 Commitment will be favorably weighted in the judging. Firms can sign onto the AIA 2030 Commitment here.

More Details


The awards will favor projects that can demonstrate the full breadth of their process, including images of design and community engagement meetings, draft diagrams, early design development, and post-occupancy collateral.

The following is a framework to help guide each team’s submission. The submission is not required to meet all aspects of each criterion. It is encouraged to demonstrate how the project performs above and beyond what is described in the document. Several criteria ask for specific metrics, to be input directly into fields on the project registration page.

Further guidance on the categories and metrics can be found in this Guidance Document.


Up to three winners will be announced, with honorable mentions awarded at the discretion of the jury. The awarded projects will receive significant recognition, including acknowledgement in AIANY publications and electronic media. Recipients will be asked to give a short presentation about their project at Center for Architecture on December 7th, 2015.

Recipients may be asked by the AIANY Communications department or by various media representatives for additional information about their projects. All submitted materials will become property of AIANY.